Specialist Diploma in Architectural Technology (SDAT)

Event code: 79004


This programme can be taken as separate stackable modular certificates. The certificates can be taken in any order (within 3 years). Upon completion of all modular certificates, you will be awarded the Specialist Diploma.


The Specialist Diploma in Architectural Technology will equip you with the necessary skills and knowledge to work as Architectural technologists in this revolutionary changing age of digital design.

Topics will include project drawing documentation, local building development guidelines, building regulations, integrated online submission of plans for approval, Architectural detailing and good practices. You will also get to explore green building designs and work on creative universal design solutions for the built environment.

Upon graduation, you can look forward to career opportunities in Architectural consultancies, Contractors and technical support sectors, such as Assistant Architects, Technical Officers, Architectural Coordinators, BIM Modellers or Architectural Product Specialists.


Certificate in Architectural BIM Submission

[MODULAR CERTIFICATE A] Commence on: January

Planning Requirements
• Planning & Development Control
• Other Technical Requirements

Building Plan Requirements
• Building Control
• CD Shelters

BIM Architectural Project
• BIM for Architecture
• BIM eSubmission Project

Certificate in Sustainable Architectural Design


Technical Department Requirements
• FSSD, LTA, NParks

Green Building & Universal Design
• Barrier-free Accessibility & Universal Design
• Sustainable Architecture

Design for Productivity
• Architectural Documentation and Management
• Design for Productivity trends
• Buildable Design

Certificate in Architectural Detailing & Building Services

[MODULAR CERTIFICATE C] Commence on: September

Architectural Detailing
• Ceiling systems
• Wall systems and finishes
• Floor finishes
• Stairs and balustrades
• Furniture and fitments
• Windows and doors
• Roofing & Cladding systems

Design for Maintainability
• Design for Maintainability Roadmap
• Case Studies

Building Services
• Electrical systems
• Lighting and Lightning Protection systems
• Vertical Transportation and Telecommunication systems
• Air-conditioning and Mechanical Ventilation systems
• Plumbing and Sanitary systems
• Fire Protection systems


Duration: 3 months per modular certificate (66 hrs)
                 (Assessment: 3 hrs)

Frequency: 2 to 3 evenings per week
(some courses may be held on Saturdays)

Venue: BCA Braddell Campus and Online Learning

Assessment: Continuous and Project Based

Fees* (inclusive of GST): S$2,000 (per modular certificate)
*SSG funding may be available for selected modular certificate(s). Details of SSG’s funding can be found in https://www.enterprisejobskills.gov.sg/content/upgrade-skills/course-fee-and-absentee-payroll-funding.html


Assessment: Continuous and Project Based

Click HERE to download brochure


Registration closes 2 weeks prior to modular certificate commencement or when the class is fully subscribed, whichever comes first. Registration can remain open until course commencement date if training spaces are still available.

Visit BCA Academy Online StoreFront (OSF)
- CLICK HERE for Module A
- CLICK HERE for Module B
- CLICK HERE for Module C

Course codes:

79004A - Module A
79004B - Module B
79004C - Module C


Applicants who do not wish to complete the Specialist Diploma programme are not subject to the entry requirements. The applicant must be a Singapore Citizen or Permanent Resident or holder of valid employment pass/work permit; and possess one of the following qualifications in a relevant discipline:
a) A diploma (min course duration of 2 years) or equivalent qualification
b) A relevant Advanced Certificate / Higher NITEC / Advanced NBQ with 2 to 3 years of relevant work experience
c) A relevant certificate with 4 to 5 years of relevant work experience
d) NITEC / Higher NBQ with at least 5 years of relevant work experience

Note: Applicants with relevant working experience but do not fulfil the above requirements will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

Applicants must have their own computers/laptops with minimum specifications to run BIM software and access student portal.

Applicant with degree or diploma qualification where English is not the medium of instruction is required to achieve the ESS Workplace Literacy Test Level 6 issued by SkillsFuture Singapore (SSG).


This Specialist Diploma Programme is designed for Architectural assistants and technical support staff. It is also suitable for those who have construction experience but wish to switch to a design-related career.


A participant must attain at least 75% of physical attendance and complete all assignments to acceptable standards to be eligible to be awarded each modular certificate. Participant who did not complete the assignments to acceptable standards but attained at least 75% of physical attendance will be issued with a certificate of attendance. The successful achievement of all modular certificates will lead to the awarding of the Specialist Diploma in Architectural Technology (SDAT).

1) For the Specialist Diploma Student Handbook, please click HERE.

2) For the Terms & Conditions for Enrolment under School of Executive & Continuing Education, please click HERE.


eLearning online blended


Sign Up for Updates

To keep yourself updated with BCA Academy’s courses and events, sign up with us TODAY!

  • BCA Logo
  • bizsafe-enterprise-level-star
  • iso
  • logo-service-class
  • logo-quality-star
  • logo-people-developer
  • logo-quality-award
  • logo-cet-centre